Robertson Drone pic

Princeton SPIA Dean Wins American Political Science Association Award

Jun 24 2024
By David Pavlak
Source Princeton School of Public and International Affairs

Amaney Jamal, dean of the Princeton School of Public and International Affairs, the Edwards S. Sanford Professor of Politics, and professor of politics and international affairs, has been awarded the Susanne Hoeber Rudolph Outstanding Scholar Award by the Religion and Politics section of the American Political Science Association.

The Susanne Hoeber Rudolph Outstanding Scholar Award recognizes a scholar who has made outstanding contributions to the field of religion and politics. These contributions are through a combination of excellent and widely influential scholarship, policy input/impact, public engagement, service, teaching, and mentorship.

“To be recognized as the Susanne Hoeber Rudolph Outstanding Scholar for 2024 by the Politics and Religion section is a tremendous honor. I look forward to continuing my research on topics that enhance our understanding of the role religion plays in political life.”
Princeton SPIA Dean Amaney Jamal

Jamal is the co-founder and co-principal investigator of the Arab Barometer Project, a central resource for quantitative research on the Middle East. Her book, “Barriers to Democracy,” which explores the role of civic associations in promoting democratic effects in the Arab world, won the 2008 American Political Science Best Book Award in the Comparative Democratization section. Her other books include, “Of Empires and Citizens” and her co-edited volume “Arab Americans Before and After 9/11.” Jamal’s articles have appeared in the American Journal of Political Science, Journal of Politics, Comparative Political Studies, Journal of Conflict Resolution, Comparative Politics, Perspectives on Politics, International Migration Review, and other venues. Her article “Does Islam Play a Role in Anti-Immigrant Sentiment: An Experimental Approach,” in Social Science Research 2015 won the 2016 Louis Wirth Best Article Award: American Sociological Association, International Migration Section.