Robertson Hall in Orange

Our Team


Rayna Truelove

Rayna Truelove is Associate Dean for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion. In this role, she leads the development of a vision and strategy and accompanying initiatives to fulfill the School’s mission to ensure a diverse, equitable, and inclusive community among students, faculty, researchers, and staff. She previously served as Assistant Dean of Access, Diversity, and Inclusion in the Princeton University Graduate School. She holds a Ph.D. from Brown University and a B.S. from Trinity University in San Antonio, both in neuroscience. A New Orleans native, she enjoys listening to music, eating (and sometimes cooking) great food, travel, and exploring the New Jersey area with her husband and two sons.

Contact Rayna at



Ariel MatosAriel Matos is Associate Director for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Programs. In this role, he is responsible for developing and supporting inclusive co-curricular programming for SPIA students. He provides mentorship and advisement, supports SPIA affinity graduate student organizations, and the SPIA Peer Advising Program. He also serves as Director of Princeton’s Junior Summer Institute. He earned his M.A. from Rider University and B.A. from The College of New Jersey. He is from Trenton, NJ, and enjoys a good cup of coffee, Animal Crossing, and going on adventures with his wife and two sons.

Contact Ariel at



DEI Representatives

(2023 Reps - from left to right: Paco Garcia Bellego, Amanda Stark, Rayna Truelove, Sergio Rodriguez Carmona, Ryan Sasse, Johana De La Cruz Gamez, Ariel Matos. Not pictured: Avery Barnett.)

Mission Statement

DEI Representatives are committed to creating and fostering a welcoming environment at SPIA that actively includes students across multiple dimensions of diversity, including race, ethnicity, nationality, religion, gender identity and expression, sexuality, age, ability, and beyond. We strive to advocate for the needs of underrepresented students, promote equity in and out of the classroom, and facilitate intentional conversations around identity, intersectionality, and allyship.

Spring & Fall 2024

  • Laurel “Elle” Cooke, MPA ‘25, Field III
  • Ariel Edelman, MPA ‘25, Field III
  • Sabrina Fields, PhD, STEP
  • Morgan Lonergan, MPA ’27, Field I
  • Marissa Molina Quintana, MPP ‘24, Field III

Outgoing Student Representatives Spring & Fall 2023

  • Sergio Rodriguez Camarena, MPA ‘24, Field III
  • Cydner Gardner-Brown, MPA ‘24, Field III
  • Sean Massa, MPA ‘24, Field 1
  • Barghav Sivaguru, MPA ‘24, Field II

DEI Standing Committee